Reviews For Surf's Up
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jul 2013 18:46 Title: San Francisco, 2254

Very nice short Story Mackenzie Calhorn.

a good AU use of Gary, glad that you made him find his calling by accident but it was the inner hero coming to the front in the right place.

Author's Response: I think Mitchell had a bit of hero to him :) Just not enough in the end. My thanks for reading.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 03:34 Title: San Francisco, 2254

Mitchell as a lifeguard? I'm assuming this is an AU? Well written piece either way, nice to see him having to face up to his mistakes and you captured his emotional state quite well.

Author's Response: yes, it is an AU. This precedes a larger piece of mine entitled "Good Vibrations". Tongue in cheek half the time. I always liked Mitchell.

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 20:28 Title: San Francisco, 2254

Great alternate take here on Gary Mitchell. I'd like to see where you take this because I think Gary Mitchell has a well of possibilities! Can't wait for the next one...Just tell me he isn't being played by Mr. Hasselhoff if you made this into a TV show.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 22:40 Title: San Francisco, 2254

Glad to see Gary Mitchell--lifeguard--revisited.  I really enjoyed that alternate take on the character and it's wonderful to see what caused him to stray down that path.  I agree - this might be a better fit for him than Starfleet ever was.  At least I hope he'll have a more promising future than the hand Fate dealt him on the Enterprise.



Author's Response: thanks. I don't think this Gary will be going anywhere too soon. I hope not.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 15:52 Title: San Francisco, 2254

A nice lead-in to "Good Vibrations," and the anger he was showing in that story towards Starfleet. Pretty cool!

Author's Response: thanks indeedy. Fighting a great white shark probably helped channel his anger in GV :)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2013 17:30 Title: San Francisco, 2254

Damn Mack. Not only do you come up with an alternate history story you can also create prequels for them (you've a whole bunch of alternate universes crammed into that head of yours almost full realised)



Author's Response: You're most kind. Yes, I have far too many ideas but then I've always had an overactive imagination. You think this is bad, wait until I get the challenge story done :) IF I get it done.

Reviewer: ErinJean Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2013 17:16 Title: San Francisco, 2254

Indeed, this seems the better thing. I like this particular path not taken.

Author's Response: Excellent. Gary Mitchell, Lifeguard will return.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2013 17:13 Title: San Francisco, 2254

You know, I can't honestly help but think this was a better fate for Gary. You don't excuse his many flaws, but you don't discount his good points, either -- like diving into the surf to save someone else. He might not be a hero quite, but he was to her, and he doubtless will be to others. And without turning into a murdering psycho, to boot. Well done!

Author's Response: Ha, yes this probably makes better sense for Mitchell. I think in a way he was Kirk writ large. The womanising and yet his sense of doing the right thing. As captain of the Enterprise he might well have been Pine's Kirk. I don't think this one will go the way of the original, not unless he gets wound up :) my thanks for the kind words.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2013 17:05 Title: San Francisco, 2254

Oh, and so the alternate take has an origin!

I like the action, very quickly, it pulls you from formal Starfleet and of course a low point to Gary doing the right thing immediately, without question and without even thinking about it.



Author's Response: I realised a little way in that I had no time to explain his rescue of the swimmer so sort of chopped about and accelerated :) Otherwise it seems right that Mitchell had had to have something happen for him to end up a lifeguard though originally I had this idea he just drifted into it. But this little piece gives reason in part for his dislike of Starfleet.

You must login (register) to review.