You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 06:17 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Bonus points here for bringing up some of the more quirkier aspects of TNG season 1. The computer which is our Captain obvious, I loved that little bit where Beverly practically rolls her eyes at the computer's painful obviousness!

You also brought up some of the contradictions of Counsellor Troi's uniform. So she's going around in rather provocative attire and she could be talking to children and parents. Hmm... Again, kudos to you for bringing up these flaws and for Beverly noticing them to!

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 03:20 Title: Farpoint, 2364

A nice series of encounters, I especially liked her meeting with McCoy, I can totally imagine that happening in the series. Shame we never got to see that scene. Nicely done once again.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 23:11 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Of course I loved the cameo by McCoy--it just makes sense that he'd want to be there to turn the reins over to his successor so to speak.

I also like that hint of trepidation on Beverly's part (this is big).  A little self-doubt instead of instantly feeling like being CMO of such a large ship will be a cakewalk.  Says a lot about the character.



Author's Response: I suspect a little of me being overawed by a ship that is home to 1014 people seeped into Beverly. She'd be in her mid 40s when she was posted but still something of the innocent perhaps. And as I say I couldn't imagine Bones would have let Data escort him off without seeing his successor. (taking a little from Provenance of Shadows, TOS book)

Reviewer: ErinJean Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2013 01:23 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Oh, this is delightful. (...though I have to wonder if she'll stop and think twice about letting her young teenage son loose in a holodeck. Oh, the mischief. Especially when he's a genius!) Loved getting this look in.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2013 16:18 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Oh, I like this. I love that snark is the first thing out of her mouth. I really love the cameo by McCoy, of course. And then there's the whole, "No trouble there," thing, which was understated genius. And the fledgling friendship between her and Deanna. Excellent look at a first day!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2013 15:28 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Well now that makes sense actually that there be a passing of the torch from one CMO to the other. I like that kind of little touch that you often come up with Mac. Shows thought and love for the characters and the setting. Also, way to meet Deanna and how Bev switched when she realised Deanna was Betazoid to just come out with her thoughts. Refreshing interpretation and makes me think more now about just why the two of them made fast friends.



Author's Response: It makes some sense that on his tour McCoy met people and the passing of a torch would have been nice. Doctor to doctor. Seemed better than dwelling on Wesley. Otherwise you do me a disservice as always :)

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2013 12:19 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Ah, McCoy! Loved his little bit here and how amazed BC seems at everything going on. The Troi bit was funny and totally makes sense for BC to ask ... nicely done. I wonder how she's going to react to meeting Picard for the first time? Looking forward to it.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2013 11:54 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Ah, and so they meet!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2013 11:30 Title: Farpoint, 2364

Ah, a friendship begins.  Again, I'm struck by how accurately you write everyone's favorite redheaded CMO.  Nice piece!



Author's Response: You're most kind. I've long liked Beverly, she had a fair thing to do in my youth I suspect. Though she's not everyone's favourite redhead :) Alas

You must login (register) to review.