Reviews For Windows
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 00:45 Title: Chapter 7

Holy crap!  Didn't see that one coming at all.  Does Scotty have a plan or is he just bat-crap crazy at this point?!



Author's Response: ::rubs hands together and puts up the prologue of the story proper!::

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 00:38 Title: Chapter 6

Okay, totally out of guesses.  What the hell is going on?!  And just so ye ken, if Scotty goes the whole ship is lost...



Author's Response: Yes indeed it is ;)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 00:31 Title: Chapter 5

Some great lines in here--the TOS Jim Kirk, but a little grittier, edgier.  Definitely had that NuKirk feel.  He and Spock aren't quite best buds yet, and that came through loud and clear.  But what is that transmission?  And what is Spock trying to reconstruct from memory?  Guess I'll never know unless I get reading. ;-)



Author's Response: He's definitely my hardest to catch, I think. I'm grateful you think I have <3 ::grins!::

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 00:22 Title: Chapter 4

Man oh.  Sounds like a mix of stuff from ENT (the Denobulan) with stuff from the original TOS (Nomad screeching "error," the destruct code sequence from 'Let That Be Your Last Battlefield,' "remember," from TWOK - what is going on here?  Echoes from the original timeline?  No wonder none of them register with Spock or Uhura, and yet they are both unnerved by them all the same.



Author's Response: These guesses are delish. I love the connections you've picked out. Thank you for them.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 00:13 Title: Chapter 3

LOL!  That was snarkalicious. ;-)  Spock/McCoy banter never gets old, no matter the universe. ;-)



Author's Response: I've never failed to love those two in a sparring match. Thank you <3

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 22:20 Title: Chapter 7

Wow. Resistance is Futile ... so ends the NuTrek crew? I can't wait for more!



Author's Response: <333

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 19:42 Title: Chapter 7

And there it is. Scrolling down was almost like that moment in Best of Both Worlds as Locutus delivers that line...Followed by Kirk: "I'm sorry."

Well played and executed, Erin.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I really wanted it to have the creep-punch. <3

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 19:02 Title: Chapter 7

I won't give it away.

Beautifully and dynamically done. Kudos!



Author's Response: If you happen to PM me your theories, I'd love it ;) Thank you so much!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 18:49 Title: Chapter 7

RESISTANCE IS FUTILE.  

Epic, epic, epic.  I cannot wait for the full version of this.  SO creatively done.  Excellent work!



Author's Response: I'm honored by this comment. Steff's cracking the whip, so I suspect I'll be writing it fairly soon! Thank you <3

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 18:43 Title: Chapter 5

Hee, hee. Love all the cocky bravado of NuKirk here. The guy is waiting to get a faceplam in his face big time. Love the banter and the teasing of Spock by Kirk in this. And also how the message makes him trip out. Something very amiss about it all.



Author's Response: Thank you :D I have trouble with him, he's the one I connect to the least, I'm glad I got him. (Love hearing your thoughts on this.)

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 07:18 Title: Chapter 6

Uh oh ....

What happens???



Author's Response: ::griiiiiiins::

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 23:58 Title: Chapter 6

What? What is it? WHAT IS IT?!?!?!?!

*ahem*

Okay, so Spock was awesome here. This is awesome in general but I will go just as crazy as the rest of the ship if I can't get some answers. I wait, impatiently, for more. Great work.



Author's Response: You sound like the Tenth Doctor! XD Thank you. I'm honored you're this hooked.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 23:47 Title: Chapter 6

Damn it, keep going, this is awesome!  I have to know how it ends!



Author's Response: I promise I'll keep going! <3

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 08:45 Title: Chapter 5

And again, a blur, a disconnect ... an interphase .....



Author's Response: ::ominoushummmmmm::

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 23:03 Title: Chapter 5

WHAT IS THAT TRANSMISSION?  WHAT IS GOING ON HERE?!  

Okay now that THAT'S out of the way, let's get to the point:  This was great.  Full of funny lines with a great insight into nuKirk's character.  My favorite:

"Spock disagrees totally. That's how I know I'm right."

Oh, so Kirk.



Author's Response: ALL WILL EVENTUALLY BE CLEAR. Though perhaps not for a while ;) Thank you so much, dear.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 23:03 Title: Chapter 5

LOL, oh, NuKirk is that cocky SOB but loveable. A game of "poke the Vulcan" I liked that a lot. This is a nice take on the bridge crew dynamics. Kirk seems to be able to make out something but what is a mystery ... the phrasing is strange. Hmm. I'm still grasping for a decent theory. But I will continue to think hard on this. Fun read.



Author's Response: Trust that man to make it a sport. ::grins:: As I mentioned in chat, I do have a lot of trouble with his character; that I could get it right is very gratifying, thank you for saying so.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 23:54 Title: Chapter 2

Okay, you are seriously making my brain hurt trying to figure out these references.  I'm in hook, line and sinker. :D  This can refer to anything from Chekov remembering his own screams in the agony booth of the Mirror Universe, to tribbles freaking out when beamed aboard a Klingon ship, to the crews of the Constellation or the Intrepid dying horrible deaths in space.

I'm sure none of these are right, so I'll just have to keep reading and looking for the Easter eggs. ;-)



Author's Response: ::rubs hands together!:: Oooh, these guesses. I love it. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 23:38 Title: Chapter 1

Okay, I've read this several times and I'm still stumped - I don't think the 'cold, unloved machinery' refers to the Primeverse.  If anything, that Enterprise was warmer with all its bright colors and soft angles than the NuVerse.

Is he seeing Nero's ship?  Perhaps a flashback to when the Narada emerged from the wormhole 25 years ago?  Even though he wasn't there?  A flashback to the event that changed all their lives, whether they realize it or not?

Totally stumped, but loving this all the same.  The imagery is beautiful, and frightening all at the same time, and does make you wonder if Scotty hasn't gone round the bend.  Or at least peeked 'round the corner.



Author's Response: ::steeples fingers and griiiiiins:: Thank you; honestly so. This review was like candy. I'm honored you find it evocative, and the guessing pleases me entirely!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 20:21 Title: Chapter 4

That picture is so cool.  I'm totally trying to figure this out.



Author's Response: ::grins!:: I am deeply pleased that you're trying. Thank you <3

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 19:36 Title: Chapter 4

what in the world is going on here...

Love the graphic to go along with this piece. And how very mysterious, combined with the other ones. Interested to see the rest of this

Author's Response: I owe a lot to Steff for brainstorming the concept of that graphic! Thank you <3

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 19:35 Title: Chapter 3

bwahahaha..."come here and I'll show you." Priceless. And totally McCoy, no matter which one it is!

Author's Response: ::GRINS:: He's one of my favorite voices, if not my most confident ones. Thank you!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 19:30 Title: Chapter 4

Lifts the lid more on Uhura than the show was often able to do. More than just someone who always seemed to be cupping her ear or saying "hailing frequencies open". Fascinating to read.

Author's Response: I love the original Uhura, and I've always chafed a little against her being stuck, in reboot, in a just-a-girlfriend role. I wanted to see into her some more. Thank you so much <3

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 18:55 Title: Chapter 4

EEE. You have me holding the laptop screen up to my face so I can try to dsicern any clues in the garbled message! This is how insanely curious you have me. Denobulon and old equipment suggests a possible ENT throwback thing. She's also hunting for Denobulan communications so that's intriguing too. And then there's the REMEMBER thing. Damn! You know how to hook us in ErinJean. Excellent job.

Also, love, love the Uhura thought process on communication and languages. Firstly, cos any language person does have a real romantic love of the languages and so rings true to the character(s) (TOS Uhura and NuUhura.). Secondly, cos it is such a great way of explaining it. Thirdly, cos it shows how much more there is to her job and how smart and important her role was - not some mere secretary on the bridge as some have tried to label it. This was a smart woman with a keen intellect.

The thought processes on Spock are also really fascinating cos in NuTrek it works to show the pairing and why it works, why they could be a pairing. For TOS trek it also works cos you can imagine Uhura stealing such thoughts about Spock especially when wrapped up in admiration and respect and shared interests. Makes me wonder jsut what universe this particular ficlet is set in.

P.S. Love the graphic addition to the piece. Noice!



Author's Response: Oh, what a wonderful long delightful review. Making it a graphic was Steff's idea; the font wouldn't work on the site! Which actually just made it more... heeee. I'm so glad you're hooked. I'm delighted with the guessing going on. Uhura was something I wanted to get exactly right, and was marginally sure I'd fail. Thank you for this portion of your review; I feel much better about writing her now. I do love her; I do feel she's been failed by scriptwriters and I wanted not to do the same. It's reboot, but the consistent feelings toward being able to read TOS era characters in it makes me very, very happy. Thank you so much, overall, for this review.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 18:44 Title: Chapter 4

Ooh - perhaps we're hearing the MU ENT crew? Curiouser and curiouser!



Author's Response: ::giggles!:: I'm prizing the guesses. Thank you.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 18:28 Title: Chapter 4

Uhura and she catches win of this mysterious thing as well ... in Denobulan of all things. Could we be looking at some sort of ENT reference? There's something strange going on here, obviously, but what exactly is it? I'm boggled and dying to see what it is. Uhura was written well, quite enjoyed her love of the symphony of signals.



Author's Response: Thank you. Emphatically, thank you, because I desperately wanted to write her well, and was scared I'd fallen quite short. At the very least, Denobulans exist in this universe ;)

You must login (register) to review.