You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: yanmaneee Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 May 2019 19:12 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

yanmaneee
fila sneakers
yeezy shoes
off white hoodie
supreme clothing
nike shoes
air jordans
michael kors handbags
jordan shoes
supreme clothing
michael kors outlet
nike air max 90
michael kors handbags
air max 270
nike air max
air max 97
yeezy boost
michael kors bags
louboutin shoes
off white hoodie
off white
longchamp handbags
michael kors outlet
hermes
adidas superstar
michael kors outlet
louboutin shoes
ralph lauren uk
jordans
nike 97
supreme clothing
nike air max
moncler jackets
air jordan
baseball jerseys
golden goose outlet
curry 4
retro jordans
moncler
balenciaga shoes
off white jordan 1
golden goose
michael kors handbags
balenciaga shoes
cheap mlb jerseys
kobe shoes
balenciaga
michael kors outlet online
timberlands
michael kors bags
nike air max 95
adidas tubular
michael kors handbags
kobe sneakers
michael kors
hermes belt
air max 270
yeezy
golden goose
balenciaga shoes
yeezy boost 350 v2
michael kors
michael kors outlet
golden goose sneakers
supreme hoodie
balenciaga shoes
supreme hoodie
balenciaga sneakers
off white shoes
hermes handbags
yeezy boost 350
kd shoes
goyard
retro jordans
christian louboutin outlet
balenciaga
moncler outlet
nike vapormax
hermes birkin
nmd
chrome hearts
kyrie 5 shoes
yeezy boost 350
valentino
russell westbrook shoes
yeezy shoes
adidas ultra boost
nhl jerseys
air max 2019
nike cortez men
coach outlet online
balenciaga
kobe 11
nike flyknit
yeezy boost 350 v2
adidas nmd
kyrie 5
golden goose outlet
jordan shoes
red bottom shoes
fila
moncler coat
nike react
michael kors outlet online
kd 11 shoes
nike basketball shoes
nike sneakers for men
ferragamo belts
golden goose outlet
off white nike
timberland boots
lebron 15
cheap jordans
christian louboutin shoes
nike air force 1
nike air max 97
golden goose sneakers
yeezy boost 350
balenciaga shoes
air max 95
yeezy
kevin durant shoes
air yeezy
reebok shoes
reebok outlet
yeezy shoes
kd shoes
nike air max 270
christian louboutin
kyrie shoes
nba jerseys
air max 97
moncler jackets
adidas gazelle
gucci belts
supreme clothing
moncler jackets
vans outlet
golden goose sneakers
birkin bag
fila shoes
kobe shoes
air jordan
vapormax
nike air max 270
coach outlet
jordan shoes
michael kors outlet online
nike air max 95
fila disruptor
fila
nfl jerseys
curry 6 shoes
fila shoes
golden goose outlet
jordan shoes
cheap jordans
nike epic react
adidas nmd
chrome hearts
coach outlet sale
lacoste polo
adidas tubular
nike air max 2017
christian louboutin
adidas tubular
yeezy boost 350
yeezy boost
supreme hoodie
louboutin outlet
balenciaga speed
supreme t shirt
yeezy boost 500
yeezys
yeezys
moncler jacket
jordan 11
nike max
bape hoodie
michael kors outlet
nike sneakers for women
mbt shoes
jordan shoes
nike air max 95
lebron 10
hermes belt
longchamp bags
christian louboutin outlet
canada goose
cheap jordans
nike vapormax
air jordan
air max 2019
balenciaga shoes
polo ralph lauren
coach handbags
michael kors outlet
yeezy
kyrie 3
kd 11
golden goose
100% real jordans for cheap
off white clothing
moncler jacket
air max 270
yeezy shoes
kobe shoes
yeezy boost
lacoste outlet
michael kors
nfl store
louboutin shoes
goyard bags
christian louboutin shoes
fila
offwhite
lebron 16
cheap jordans
yeezy boost
gucci belt
jordan shoes
jordan shoes
curry 6 shoes
michael jordan shoes
yeezy boost 350 v2
balenciaga
yeezy
nike air max
air max 270
kyrie 4
coach outlet online
curry shoes
kobe 9
chrome hearts online
christian louboutin outlet
calvin klein outlet
hermes birkin
air force 1
fila shoes
james harden shoes
off white shoes
adidas stan smith shoes
michael kors outlet online
fila shoes
jordan shoes
air jordan
jordan sneakers
lacoste online shop
air max 90
balenciaga shoes
yeezy shoes
air max 97
yeezy shoes
yeezy
curry 4 shoes
ferragamo belt
michael kors outlet
jordan shoes
mlb jerseys
air max 2018
golden goose
off white x jordan 1
fitflops sale clearance
adidas tubular shadow
nike air max 270
supreme hoodie
balenciaga shoes
yeezy boost
russell westbrook shoes
vans shoes
jordan shoes
nmd
kd 10
yeezy boost 350
nike air max 97
nike air max 2019
yeezy shoes
yeezy boost 700
coach outlet sale
louboutin shoes
yeezy boost
nike air vapormax
goyard handbags
jordan shoes
kobe basketball shoes
yeezy boost 350 v2
golden goose sneakers
jordan 6
yeezy 500
huaraches
balenciaga trainers
nike foamposite
jordan 12
michael kors handbags
michael kors purses
louboutin shoes uk
yeezy boost
adidas zx flux
michael kors outlet
michael kors factory outlet online
nike air force
christian louboutin shoes
nike shox for men
kobe byrant shoes
kyrie 5
bape hoodie
retro jordans
supreme
coach factory outlet
nike shox
yeezy boost 350
golden goose
longchamp handbags
michael kors outlet
jordans
nike air max 97
air jordan
nike jordans
nmd
golden goose outlet
off white clothing
calvin klein underwear
hogan outlet online
nike x off white
fila
jordans
ultra boost
christian louboutin shoes
nike air max
moncler
jimmy choo shoes
balenciaga
air max 95
adidas yeezy
kate spade handbags
adidas yeezy
mbt
red bottom heels
yeezy boost 350
jordan shoes
cheap jordans
hermes handbags
yeezys
red bottoms
cheap jordans
christian louboutin sale
westbrook shoes
longchamp
yeezy 500
ferragamo belts
yeezy shoes
curry 6
off white clothing
nike air vapormax
nike lebron 16
nike shoes
converse outlet
moncler
converse outlet store
nike react
nike huarache
curry 5
balenciaga sneakers
balenciaga
longchamp
timberland boots
nike air max 2019
nike shoes
curry 4
michael kors handbags outlet
hermes handbags bag
lebron james shoes
balenciaga triple s
supreme clothing
kd 11
nike vapormax
coach factory outlet
golden goose sneakers
fitflop
off white nike
jordans
curry 6 shoes
balenciaga
off white
coach outlet
birkin bag
hermes belts for men
nike epic react
curry 5
cheap nfl jerseys
yeezy boost 350 v2
caterpillar boots
louboutin
michael kors uk
christian louboutin shoes
jordan retro
stephen curry shoes
chrome hearts
canada goose jacket
jordan 4
yeezy boost 350
nike vapormax
vapormax
longchamp handbags
yeezy boost 350
jordan 13
ralph lauren uk
christian louboutin outlet
supreme clothing
supreme outlet
coach outlet
chrome hearts online
christian louboutin
air max
curry 5 shoes
nike kd 11
jordan shoes
nike huarache
adidas yeezy boost
supreme new york
yeezy 700
christian louboutin outlet
nike air max 2018
curry 6
hermes handbags
golden goose
coach outlet
paul george shoes
goyard bags
nike cortez
harden shoes
michael kors handbags
lebron shoes
nike air huarache
Kanye West shoes
christian louboutin shoes
air jordan
air max 95
air max 97
adidas superstars
lebron 11
ferragamo belt
golden goose
curry 6
birkin bag
nike shoes
supreme new york
westbrook shoes
hermes bags
retro jordans
nike hyperdunk
nike off white
jordan retro
nike shoes
jordan shoes
yeezy boost 350 v2
moncler outlet
cat boots
adidas nmd
adidas stan smith
vapormax
cheap jordans
birkin bag
yeezy boost 350
hermes
nike sneakers
chrome hearts outlet
timberland
goyard handbags
adidas yeezy
off white
asics shoes
hermes online
timberland outlet
vapormax
yeezy boost
adidas nmd r1
michael kors outlet
zx flux
lebron 15 shoes
michael kors factory outlet
yeezy shoes
nike air max 270
curry 4
nike air max 97
yeezy boost 350 v2
valentino shoes
kyrie 5 shoes
hogan outlet
kyrie 4 shoes
kd shoes
christian louboutin outlet
asics running shoes
cheap nba jerseys
jordan shoes
hermes belt
adidas ultra
lebron shoes
cheap jordans
michael kors handbags
kyrie irving shoes
lacoste outlet
louboutin shoes
yanmaneee

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jan 2014 03:35 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

Terrific concept and story, really enjoyed this quite a bit. Gender bender isn't usually my fare and neither is canon Trek to be honest but this got me hooked pretty much straight away. Making Kirk and Gary a captain/first officer pairing, and then adding an unwanted, forced pregnancy into the mix was absolutely brilliant. As was Jane's voice throughout this story.

Many women have surely been in these kind of unfortunate situations but thanks to Trek, you added a unique spin to this tale which gives this story another dimension in which there is no real villain other than the situation in which Kirk finds herself.

Excellent work.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 00:06 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

 

This was an inspired way to treat the female Kirk. This was what I thought it would be, initially, but it just got better as we traveled deeper into Jane Kirk’s thought processes. She was facing her own Kobayashi Maru scenario here. This was her facing the inconceivable choice … not whether to watch a friend die or sacrifice someone for the sake of the ship. Whether to have a child that was forced on her, a child that would endanger her career, and one that would make her best friend’s lasting impression on the world a dark one.

She was certain it was the right choice and she went through with it, but she made sure she would be assured of the success of the baby’s life after her. She wanted to do the right thing and, in that Kirk persistence, did so. Very neatly she made her point and got what she wanted.

But the doubts, they crept back up when she recorded that message. It was a sad message, one that really struck a chord with me … would the kid ever seek out his mother? Would he ever care to? What kind of effect would that have on his life? How could it not affect his life?

This story had so many modern parallels, hit all the right notes, and was a great read. It really makes you think and that’s the best thing Trek does. You have captured that here along with the pain, hope, fear, and confusion of giving away a child … of having to deal with the effects of not having it. Well done.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 00:01 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

Even in the future, women have to make the tough sacrifices when it comes to our end of the babymaking bargain.  I'm really glad to see that abortion is not the solution in this story -- that the baby gets a chance at life and infertile would-be parents get a chance at a baby.  I appreciated Jane's honest and realistic approach to it all, and her message to her unborn son was simply beautiful.  I loved that she tried to remember her best friend as he was, and not as what he became, but also owned her grief.  And the echoes to canon Kirk were wonderful -- stack of books on two legs, her refusal to take no for an answer when it was simple red tape, and her commitment to her ship and crew.

Very nicely done.

Reviewer: Cowgirlcadet1701 Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Apr 2013 00:45 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

Good story. This is an AU that I would kind of like to read more about,as several of my OCs, in addition to being author avatars, or perhaps because of it, have that Never-Say-Die attitude that Kirk embodies so completely.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2012 20:23 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

Wow, this is so powerful. Something tells me you have some insight into the adoption process, from one side or another. As an adoptive mom myself, I have a letter to my son something like Jane's to hers, from a young woman who made a very similar choice. I am grateful to her for her courage every day. On a more abstract level, I wish we had technology like this!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jun 2009 18:47 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

You know, I just went back and re-read this, and discovered at the end what is either a really funny coincidence or a really clever pun.

"Send the message to Enterprise, c/o Jane Hathaway."

Could be "care of"...but we know what else C.O. stands for... ;-)

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Mar 2009 20:47 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

I don't know whether to be impressed with or to be repulsed by the concept of this story--and I do like that you made me think.

On one hand, as a major advocate of adoption, it warms my heart to see an alternative to abortion in the 23rd century.  At least personally, I would like to hope that in your imagining, this completely supplanted the role that abortion has in 21st century society.  To be able to give such children a chance to be adopted would be such a wonderful step forward for human society. :-)

On the other hand...it's rather unnerving to watch the impersonal way that the clinic handles it, and their assumptions about what the women need, not to mention the lack of involvement of men.  Those are things I would've hoped to see society get over by then, but I guess because men can do the in-out-and-run with no consequences, it would be a tough fight to change the culture to where men were forced to accept responsibility.  (Of course, I understand that in THIS case, Gary was not alive or in a state to accept responsibility.  I'm talking about the way you describe the general reaction.)

Jane Kirk as a character was very interesting.  In some ways, I think this could be a bit more palatable than the womanizing James Kirk that makes it so hard for me to watch TOS.

One thing, though.  We've seen pregnant women on starships and stations in the 24th century, including one (Kira Nerys) that continued away missions even when she was very close to term in what would probably be considered a high-risk pregnancy.  I think that to avoid the story being read as sexist, it might have been a better idea to explain the rationale behind any regulation there might be about pregnant women.  Or if this is Jane's own belief, it might've been better to approach it by saying that SHE as an expectant mother did not want to bring her child into the world on a starship or take that kind of risk, not that it's some kind of general rule of "pregnant women and starships don't mix."

Overall, though, I liked the story and very much enjoyed reading it. :-)



Author's Response: Thanks for your thoughts. The sexism, unfortunately, is actually there in TOS. There are no female starship captains during Kirk's time; admittedly, Janice Lester, who tells us so, is crazy, but Kirk never contradicts her, and Kirk's crew reacts to a female Klingon *science* officer as if having a woman of such high rank amazes them. There was some backsliding. In real life, of course, it's because the 1960's were far more sexist than today. In terms of the Trek universe, I assume something happened that temporarily made women lose gains they had made, some sort of backlash. By TNG's time, Starfleet is *much* more open to women in general, to families and to pregnancy, and Kira in particular is a Bajoran officer and it always seemed to me that the Bajorans are damn near matriarchal. But the sexism -- the glass ceiling Jane Kirk has just overcome, the fact that she was slower to make captain than the male version was, the attitude toward pregnancy and the fact that "baby donation" is treated almost as if it were shameful -- I'm going off stuff that actually appeared in TOS for this. Part of the reason I'm doing my genderswap *in* TOS rather than TNG is that the life of Jeanne Picard would not be in any significant way different from the life of Jean-Luc Picard, in terms of her career at least, but TOS shows us a much more sexist Starfleet. And yeah, I'd like to believe we'd overcome all that by then, but one of the things I like to do with Trek is explore the dark side of its utopianism, the way they don't meet their lofty goals or have inadvertently introduced new negative elements (such as the lack of privacy). Things are certainly better for women in TOS's time than they are today -- I believe there was no barrier to women's success in the civilian sector, and it's mainly Starfleet's hostility to families that created the backlash for women there -- but they are not perfect and they're not even as good as they'll get by TNG's time.

Reviewer: Verenna Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Feb 2009 16:51 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

Hey! I put five stars! Not two and a half! Alara, dear, consider yourself with five shiny yellow stars, please.
(I believe Ive just killed the language)

Reviewer: Verenna Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Feb 2009 16:45 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

This story is so sad and so true. Why people always believe to forget is the best way to get over something? A mother accepts loosing a child,but she never forget. Nobody can "forget" something like that. When I had a miscarriage, my doctor said "think of it as you never were pregnant". What?! He wanted me to ignore the blood test? Life gets better just puting aside the bad things that happens? Jane Kirk speaking about how she wanted to "know" shows how women feels, and how their choices are not just a way to "put bad things aside" and forget, as how many people would like to believe.Sometimes choices are hard, sometimes choices are easy, but all kind of choices have outcomes women must face.
Im sorry for my english, not a native speaker, you know.So, the deep of my comments is seriously affected by my lack of fluency. And grammar. and vocabulary.LOL

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2009 04:24 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

There's no easy way for a woman to part with her child, whatever the circumstances. This story is so deep on so many levels. And gender transposition was the last thing on my mind when I read it, not even the role of genders itself, but the choices people make, we make. Jane is very determined, a true captain indeed, and she was here at her best, especially when explaining why she could never, ever forget this baby. Thank you very much for sharing this!

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2009 13:36 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

That has to be the hardest thing a woman can do. You told the tale without getting bogged down in soap-opera-style wallowing in emotion yet conveyed the sense of loss well. Good job!

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2009 11:22 Title: Jane Kirk's Enterprise 1

I read this story quite awhile ago, and it never quite left my mind. Many stories are forgettable; you read them and go on and don't think twice, but this isn't one of 'em. I don't know if you're a Mom or not, but speaking as one, you handle the internal feelings of a mother very well -- even if she doesn't get to stay, part of Jane there will always be a mother, and I love that you acknowledged that. As you already know, I much preferred how you handled gender issues in this story versus... certain others out there. Overall a memorable, touching piece. I only wish there was more!

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes, I have four kids (the two oldest are technically stepkids, but I've raised them from toddlers, so they're my kids.) One of the things I wanted to do with the genderswap was explore how the different reproductive choices/issues women have would impact Kirk (and later Spock) differently; James Kirk has a son he never knew he had, Jane Kirk has a son she had to voluntarily give up. Both are impacted by sex and reproduction in different ways. Also, as the daughter of an adopted woman, I had some things I wanted to say about how adopted children and their biological parents used to be treated, where biological mothers were encouraged to "forget" they had children, as if they ever could. The TOS era is a curious funhouse mirror reflecting both our future and our past, so I thought it was a better venue for that than the more utopian, more egalitarian, "we've solved all that" arena of the TNG era.

You must login (register) to review.