You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jul 2011 11:47 Title: Chapter 16

A rather unique and inventive method of torture...one can imagine the possibilities...especially from someone as insidious as the Baron. And Jean-Luc Picard may be part of the "big-leagues," but if Sandhurst makes it through this...he'll have my respect and admiration.

Author's Response:

Yes, the Baron's a very bad man, indeed.  And here's hoping Donald lives long enough to earn your respect and admiration!

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jun 2011 12:12 Title: Chapter 15

A very interesting couple of chapters...you really established the Baron's power, intelligence, and villainous intentions here. How Sandhurst and his crew will face up to him with creatures of near god-like power at his fingertips, I guess we will have to wait and see...

Author's Response:

The Baron is a foe that would give the crew of Picard's Enterprise trouble... so to say Gibraltar's crew is overmatched is an understatement.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jun 2011 11:46 Title: Chapter 14

Oh boy, Sandhurst is in a bind now...

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jun 2011 09:35 Title: Chapter 13

And the pieces really start coming together in this chapter: the DNA-manipulated Baron, the reason for the brutal Orion attack, the mysterious 'omnimorphic' entity, time-traveling...made my head spin like Captain Sandhurst's! But well worth the wait.

Author's Response:

Indeed, Sandhurst's trying his best to muddle his way through the complexities of this mystery.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jun 2011 09:11 Title: Chapter 12

Whoa, raining blood?! Both gory and disturbing...

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2011 11:36 Title: Chapter 11

Wow, I think my view of the Orions have been permanently changed! A exciting and vivid chapter. An extraordinarily difficult choice that Captain Sandhurst had to make...I'm not sure what I would have done in his place. But that's what makes him a good captain.

Author's Response:

It was a gut-wrenching decision, to be sure, and one he's certain to replay in his mind again and again. 

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 May 2011 17:44 Title: Chapter 10

Ah, MIT graduates still up to no good...even in the 24th century! I'd be a little apprehensive of anyone with dual doctorates in quantum mechanics and dimensional theory. Keep that guy in the classroom.

And the action really picks up in this chapter...poor Ensign Qawasimi!

Author's Response:

Dr. Benghazi is something of an enigma, only one of many associated with this mission.  However, I think the crew would agree with your assessment.  :D

The Orions were not pulling any punches, to be sure.  Ensign Qawasimi and the others killed and injured in the attack deserved better.  Here's hoping there's some payback waiting for them in the wings.

Thank you for the review!

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Apr 2011 19:59 Title: Chapter 9

Seems like whatever is down there is causing chaos at the biochemical level as well...and it's nice to see this side of Captain Sandhurst.

I'm glad you brought up the point about personal weapon systems becoming so light and easy to use that it feels like a kid's toy. This is a blessing on one hand, but can be dangerous if an actual kid can wield it or if the user is reacting reflexively on instinct. Technology enables us to do so much but also increases our vulnerability to human error. Especially with something that suggests 'pure carnage'!

Author's Response:

Sandhurst does have a compassionate side, he's simply been far too busy recently to let it show much.  And the guns in the hands of the Orions are big, heavy, clunky, and undeniably dangerous.  Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2011 11:31 Title: Chapter 8

Uh oh...a spatial rift? Down on the planet? Doesn't sound like a good situation one bit! Plazzi's response was great. We also get some nice background on two interesting characters, Lightner and Juneau. I agree with Lightner; watching the automated controls keep the ship in orbit DOES sound boring!

Author's Response:

It's the curse of the helm officer... when the ship's at relative 'stop' life becomes tedious.  Thank you for the feedback!  As for the spatial rift, agreed, they seldom herald the arrival of anything good.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Apr 2011 14:41 Title: Chapter 7

Another great Ramirez chapter. It's satisfying to walk with her as she goes through new experiences and learns her lessons in leadership. I also like your chapter cliffhanger...reminds me of the Silent Hill horror game series where they always seem to innocently ask you: "Would you like to jump down this dark hole?"

I wonder what a Tellarite female even looks like. I'm guessing just like the male but with longer hair and not such a heavy beard. Have we ever seen one?

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, vincenhugo!

Yes, this is a learning experience for Liana, who spent most of her XO time during the war on the bridge, and not getting to be very involved in away teams.  I think we might have seen a female Tellarite in perhaps Enterprise, but I'm not sure, actually.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Nov 2010 19:23 Title: Chapter 6

And we go into even further depths with the Lar'ragos character...I hope he comes to peace with whatever is tormenting him in his sleep. I think it's nice having an El Aurian for an officer. He seems a lot more 'hardened' than other El Aurians we've seen.

Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting!  As you'll discover, Lar'ragos is indeed a lot harder than most others of his species, and for good reason.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Nov 2010 19:20 Title: Chapter 5

Hmmm...a space 'consciousness' that can feel pain...can't imagine what it can or will do to the Gibriltar crew! And now we apparantly have a 'dark figure' brewing up something...

Also great to see the Orions in action. Not something that we saw a lot of in TNG or any of the other series.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you're enjoying the story.  There's more of these mysteries to come.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Oct 2010 11:53 Title: Chapter 4

The action has really picked up here. I like how you peppered over the chapter the thoughts of this intelligent 'being' that's floating around in space and ready to cause some trouble. You'll excuse me (until we get into more detailed descriptions) if I think of this being as Melllvar, the 34-year old gas cloud that tortures the old Star Trek crew from Futurama:)

Author's Response:

Well, I'm hoping this being is a tad bit more malevolent than a overly-enthusiastic non-corporeal Star Trek fan! ;-)  Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Oct 2010 19:59 Title: Chapter 3

I really liked the idea of 'The Vault.' If time travel were actually possible the way Star Trek does it, then something like the Vault would be an absolute necessity. I mean, really, considering that the Borg were so close in wiping out the Federation the one time, what would actually stop them from trying again? (and leaping back in time from the Delta Quadrant first, THEN going to Earth)

Can't wait to see how this all develops!

Author's Response:

The Vault is definitely one of those build-it-and-hope-we-don't-need-it projects for the Federation.  Thanks for the commentary!

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Oct 2010 11:09 Title: Chapter 2

I'm sorry to see Ramirez having to toil with her inner demons, but it certainly adds dimension to the character. In fact, I would have even liked see more of what is going through her head, and how she is psychologically dealing with the loss of the Pheonix. I imagine anyone in her position would be going through a lot.

I also like how Sandhurst is dealing with issues of older age; it kind of reminds of the old movies when we see Kirk dealing with having to wear glasses. Even in Star Trek time, we are all mortal!

Author's Response:

Ramirez is strong and proud, and she cares about those under her command... which is why the loss of Pheonix haunts her still.

Sandhurst is fighting the age-old battle of the expanding waistline, here's hoping he can pull it off.

Thanks for the comments!

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Oct 2010 18:21 Title: Chapter 1

An exciting start for the Gibraltar crew, including an explosive action scene. I'd hate to be under the command of Lar'ragos, but he's right, the Federation's teeming with enemies now...no time to slack off.

Also a good setup with the nervous scientist; I'm intrigued to see what's in store for the crew!

Author's Response:

Pava's got his hackles up, all right, but his perspective on the Federation's plight has a lot to do with his own personal demons.

Glad I've piqued your curiosity and that you’re onboard for Gibraltar’s second mission!

Reviewer: unusualsuspex Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2010 08:02 Title: Chapter 2

Its nice to see the run-of-the-mill opertions of a starship so nicely narrated.

However, concern about Lar'ragos seems to be extending outward in ever expanding ripples. I'm not sure but I get the feeling there's going to be a breaking point in the not too distant future.

Ramirez, despite her inner demons, appears to be taking the XO position seriously. Wonder how long it will be before she realises she's an asset that Sandhurst needs rather than just wants?

More inspired build up Sam. Liking it.

Author's Response:

Run of the mill is Gibraltar's bread and butter!  Ramirez is too professional to allow her personal issues to blind her to her duty, but she'd clearly rather be elsewhere.

Thanks for the comments!

Reviewer: unusualsuspex Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2010 06:54 Title: Chapter 1

You know when I read that first firefight scene, I was utterly convinced that Gibraltar had suffered yet another breach of their defences! If it felt as realistic in the holo-deck... well I'd have been changing my uniform for one!

Lar’ragos... now there's a man who doesn't trust the universe, though to be fair its not really given him reason to trust.

And as for the shadowy activity on Pierosh II, oh dear oh dear. I feel somebody's first detached assignment to the Reconnaissance and Patrol section looks like being slightly more interesting than she thinks.

Hope Juneau pulls something out of the hat here!

Excellent narrative again, both in descriptive and plot moving form.

Author's Response:

Excellent points on all counts.  Lar'ragos has reason to mistrust the universe, and their recent mission to Lakesh has unearthed a great many painful memories for him.

As for Juneau, she can be more capable than even she realizes under the right circumstances.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 05:25 Title: Epilogue

Sorry, when I posted the initial review, hadn't realised it was the last chapter. So one last comment to say WELL DONE! A great story, tightly plotted, excellently written. An overall joy!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting. :-)  I very much appreciate your insights and commentary on the story.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 05:24 Title: Epilogue

And the famous Lar'ragos-Dax meet-up you mentioned! Cool!
Section 31 back to their old games, as usual, and chilling to discover that Juneau's handler is Chief of Staff to the President! Reminded me a little of Restoration, actually! :)
And well done Ramirez for calling out Lar'ragos, showing she can be cold and hard as well when she needs to be!

Author's Response:

There were quite a few pieces to pick up after all the trauma from this mission, and once Sandhurst was taken care of, it was time for Liana to concentrate on Lar'ragos.  As always, I appreciate the thoughtful feedback.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 05:20 Title: Chapter 22

Oh wow! You really managed to capture the trauma that has been caused to Sandhurst there. I found that to be a really emotional scene, especially considering what had happened in the conversation between Lar'ragos and Ramirez earlier on.

That scene between Pava and Ixis was a pure joy to read, as well, as the 'stone cold' bitch got what was coming to her from the real article.

Fantastically well done!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it.  Writing the conversation between Lar'ragos and Ixis was rather enjoyable, in a sadistic sort of way.  As for Sandhurst, he's at the beginning of a long road to recovery.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 05:14 Title: Chapter 21

Oh that's harsh by Pava there at the end. Real cold (no pun intended). Still, I suppose the Orion did kill a lot of people, but he came through for Sandhurst at the end.

I enjoyed the confrontation between Ixiis and Ramirez, and I hope Ramirez gets to kick her ass (metaphysically obviously :) ) before the end.

I really felt for Juneau and hope she finds some kind of way of integrating both parts of her personality in the future.

And nice to see that not only did Plazzi survive, but he was able to hand over the torch at the end.

Oh, and Sandhurst is back! Yay!

Author's Response:

Kutav is a survivor, and his actions were driven by self-preservation rather than any idealistic heroism.  Pava let him live, but he never promised him a rose garden. ;-)

Oh, Ixis will meet her match, to be sure...

Juneau's future and her relationship with the Operative persona will continue to be a troubled subject for her.

Plazzi's not quite done with Gibraltar yet, as he still has to get his replacement trained up before he leaves.

Yes, Sandhurst's back, but it's going to be some time before he's truly 'whole' again.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 05:05 Title: Chapter 20

Woah.

Woah.


Woah.

Amazing. So much going on in that chapter. Blowing the warp nacelles free to climb back out of the atmosphere. The intervention of the Q. Lar'ragos's clever destruction of the android and his brutal smackdown of the Baron.

All I can say is Bravo!

Author's Response:

Thanks :-)  This was one of those chapters where so many things come to fruition that it's difficult to give everything and everyone proper attention... I'm glad to know it came together well.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 04:56 Title: Chapter 19

Woah, that's intense. You have a real skill at juggling all of these different storylines together at the same time as they come together in one huge crapshoot! Talk about the "sheet" hitting the fan!

And what is that with the Baron? Is he a Timelord? Or just inspired by one? Either way, I love it!

Author's Response:

Timelord?  What is this Timelord of which you speak?  ;-)

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2010 15:07 Title: Chapter 18

Yay Kutav! So good to see him regain some of his honor by saving Sandhurst at the last. I also liked the twist with the Chameloid, we don't see enough non-Founder shapeshifters in Star Trek!

I also loved Ramirez confrontation with the TI officer - especially when she told her to go to hell! Love it!

Author's Response:

Ramirez stood her ground, but that kind of stand has been known to end careers where TI is concerned.  And Kutav is nothing if not adept in the arts of self-preservation.  He didn't rescue Sandhurst out of a sense of honor so much as it was, in his estimation, his best opportunity to escape the Baron before his usefulness to the criminal had been exhausted.

You must login (register) to review.