You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Robert Bruce Scott Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2021 00:32 Title: Epilogue

Nice series of wraps. I'm onboard with Director S31 having a day job (mine is Chief Justice of the Federation Tribunal.) A holo-necklace to create alter-egos to preserve his cover - that's a first - wish I'd thought of that.

Lar'ragos definitely needs some head-shrinkage. Really excellent interaction between him and Ramirez, particularly the concluding order.

Very enjoyable story overall - with some really creative villainny (part of it by one of our heroes..)

Thanks!! rbs



Author's Response:

I'm pleased you enjoyed the tale! Thank so much for commenting.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jul 2012 07:07 Title: Epilogue

Ok, just finished it on my way home on a KC-10, and can I just say...everytime you kill off a character, a little piece of me screams "ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!" Granted, Dunleavy came back, but still, it was one of those "AH! NO!" moments for me, lol. LOVED the image I got of The Rock standing on her end, without her nacelles, floating above the planet surface. And Olivia's alter...and the Q...I'm kinda figuring, but could you clarify, this episode takes place during their "civil war" that we saw a little of in Voyager?

Once again, absolutely incredible, it was difficult to put it down at all. And the timeship (and Pava, at the end) resemblance to another certain show was pretty fun to read. Looking forward to the third one!!

Author's Response:

TemplarSora, thank you for the wonderful feedback!

Yes, the conflict between the Q ‘brothers’ was a result of the civil war we saw in Voyager’s ‘The Q and the Grey’ but as I figure the Continuum existed outside the constraints of normal time, the wounded Q was not only thrown into a parallel reality, but was thrown into that alternate reality's distant past as well.

I hope you enjoy Prophets and Loss as much as you enjoyed Geometries.  :D

Reviewer: David Lowbridge Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2012 07:28 Title: Epilogue

wow just finished this story. what a great ending. its a shame that they are loosing the CSO. I thought he was a good character. But a show like this needs to have those kind of losses if you ask me. Also there are several unanswered questions. Will Sandhurst return, what effect will this have on him. Will Pava return and what will happen with Ramirez; at least this time the ship didn't explode under her. Great work! Can't wait until read the next one.

Author's Response:

I'm pleased you enjoyed this story so much.  And Plazzi will still be around for awhile yet, seeing as Starfleet hasn't dropped the stop-loss order.  This is one of those stories that will have consequences for everyone involved for a long time to come.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2011 16:53 Title: Epilogue

A nice wrap-up to a fantastic, gut-wrenching, yet very satisfying story! Once again you are a vivid writer and you certainly have a way with words. This one burned a deeper mark in my mind then the first story. The Gibraltar really went through some brutal moments this time around that made me twist and turn as a reader. I think what I like most about Geometries of Chance is that it really has a boyish-adventure-quality to it, which I personally tend to like more.

I also liked how you teased us with references to the characters from the shows we all love, like Commander Shelby, Counselor Troi and Ezri Dax, but without actually involving them. This is extremely tempting to do as fan writers, but I think it pays off to hold off on doing that until you've developed your characters sufficiently. That being said, I'm STILL looking forward to seeing Shelby in action in the later adventures!

If I only had one suggestion, it would be to explore those tortuous moments even further. For example, you came up with a very inventive torture device for Captain Sandhurst and we see that he is scarred from it, but I would have liked to see even more as to what he went through emotionally, so I could more deeply understand his pain. Twist the knife even more!

Congrats again, and nicely done! I'm inspired once again to explore greater depths of my own characters.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the fantastic reviews of the story.  I’m pleased you enjoyed the tale.  Sandhurst’s agonies at the hands of the Baron will continue to haunt him for some time, as the continuing stories will convey.  And yes, I intentionally held off showing any canon characters until the third story, to give me more time to find the voice of my own characters first.

Thanks again.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 13:25 Title: Epilogue

Sorry, when I posted the initial review, hadn't realised it was the last chapter. So one last comment to say WELL DONE! A great story, tightly plotted, excellently written. An overall joy!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting. :-)  I very much appreciate your insights and commentary on the story.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2010 13:24 Title: Epilogue

And the famous Lar'ragos-Dax meet-up you mentioned! Cool!
Section 31 back to their old games, as usual, and chilling to discover that Juneau's handler is Chief of Staff to the President! Reminded me a little of Restoration, actually! :)
And well done Ramirez for calling out Lar'ragos, showing she can be cold and hard as well when she needs to be!

Author's Response:

There were quite a few pieces to pick up after all the trauma from this mission, and once Sandhurst was taken care of, it was time for Liana to concentrate on Lar'ragos.  As always, I appreciate the thoughtful feedback.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 12 Aug 2009 08:06 Title: Epilogue

This was a great sequel to the first story. I've stayed up far later than I ought and enjoyed every minute of it!

Author's Response:

Many thanks for your reading both stories in a single night and offering so much commentary.  I'm very pleased you enjoyed Geometries, it was an awful lot of fun to write.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 09 Mar 2009 23:44 Title: Epilogue

Well, I can sincerely and deeply hope that everyone gets help and recovers from this mess. It's an excellent story, but the darkness wears on for so long that the reader gets a bit emotionally exhausted by the end. Not that it's a bad thing -- it definitely conveys what you intend it to about the sheer level of constant alert and guard the crew goes through. But also there's definitely a relief when things come back to something like normal, too.

It is excellent, though. Consistently top quality, with great twists and turns, and compelling characters.

You must login (register) to review.