You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Robert Bruce Scott Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2021 23:24 Title: Chapter 1

Looks like we have a mad scientist on our hands here...

Interesting to show what the less exalted academy grads are up to and look itno their attitudes.

I have to agree with Tark about the drills. Weeks of no-win scenarios can turn a decent fighting unit into a demoralized one who second-guess every move. Lar'ragos seems to have a burr in his saddle.

Intriguing open - Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: Erin Moriarty Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Oct 2014 21:37 Title: Chapter 1

I really love how you started this story seemingly in media's res, even though it was only a simulation. It also offers red further insight not only into Pava's mind, but also into the political climate. I'm really curious to see what these scientists have up their sleeves. I suspect that they haven't fully realized the potential dangers of their meddling....

I'm quite eager to see what all you have planned.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the feedback. Yes, this is a much different tale than Embers, but hopefully you'll find it equally enjoyable.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jun 2012 18:16 Title: Chapter 1

"Tark laughed appreciatively" isn't that a bit cold-blooded even for a Tellerite? Lar’ragos may seem paranoid but given his background he is sadly right: the Federation is vulnerable to attack by other aggressive species. But I think Lar'ragos underestimates the will of other Federation members to defend 'paradise' no matter what the cost.

It was clever of you to use a holodeck program to start the story; you had me fooled there for a moment! Mildly intriguing last scene; I presume it sets up the plot for this story. Some mad science experiment about to go wrong but some powerful (and shady) people/factions/groups have vested interests in it.

An interesting opener to your second Gibraltar story...

Author's Response:

Thanks, I'm glad you like it. This is a very different story from Embers, but one that reveals a great deal about many of the crew.

Reviewer: David Lowbridge Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Apr 2012 21:57 Title: Chapter 1

hmm... is there going to be an episode where Sandhurst goes on holiday, because with everything you throw at sandhurst he'll need about 2 months on risa and a new fan every episode.

I'm still trying to figure out who is on which side - completely boggles the mind on that one.

Its turning out like an excellent episode again. The combat scenes were fantastically done. brilliant writing. If I had a star system I would give it 6/5 (not a typo).

wish i could read more tonight, but feeling the call of the bed.

Author's Response:

I'm happy you enjoyed the combat sequences.  The Orions and the Baron are playing for keeps, and Gibraltar's poor crew is just trying to keep up.

Reviewer: vincenthugo Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Oct 2010 01:21 Title: Chapter 1

An exciting start for the Gibraltar crew, including an explosive action scene. I'd hate to be under the command of Lar'ragos, but he's right, the Federation's teeming with enemies now...no time to slack off.

Also a good setup with the nervous scientist; I'm intrigued to see what's in store for the crew!

Author's Response:

Pava's got his hackles up, all right, but his perspective on the Federation's plight has a lot to do with his own personal demons.

Glad I've piqued your curiosity and that you’re onboard for Gibraltar’s second mission!

Reviewer: unusualsuspex Anonymous Liked [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2010 13:54 Title: Chapter 1

You know when I read that first firefight scene, I was utterly convinced that Gibraltar had suffered yet another breach of their defences! If it felt as realistic in the holo-deck... well I'd have been changing my uniform for one!

Lar’ragos... now there's a man who doesn't trust the universe, though to be fair its not really given him reason to trust.

And as for the shadowy activity on Pierosh II, oh dear oh dear. I feel somebody's first detached assignment to the Reconnaissance and Patrol section looks like being slightly more interesting than she thinks.

Hope Juneau pulls something out of the hat here!

Excellent narrative again, both in descriptive and plot moving form.

Author's Response:

Excellent points on all counts.  Lar'ragos has reason to mistrust the universe, and their recent mission to Lakesh has unearthed a great many painful memories for him.

As for Juneau, she can be more capable than even she realizes under the right circumstances.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 05 Dec 2009 15:01 Title: Chapter 1

An intriguing opening chapter. I liked the picture you painted of the small crew aboard the runabout, especially the commanding officer trying to find her feet. And way to wet our appetite for what is to come with the mention of this scientist and the spectre of Genesis and Omega.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  Yes, a great many things have been set in motion in this chapter.  Glad to have you onboard for GoC!

Reviewer: Rocky Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2009 14:21 Title: Chapter 1

Another rollicking adventure! It's great to see how the crew is continuing to gel together, and see them continuing to rise to the occasion. I loved the Q aspects of the story (nice nod to the VOY episode "Q and the Grey")and the Baron definitely reminded me of Dr. Who. Poor Sandhurst has really been through the mill, though Pava isn't exactly getting off easy, either. Ramirez continues to really shine. And last but not least, the Section 31 aspects are most intriguing. I'm looking forward to learning more about their involvement and why in the coming installments.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the terrific review!  I'm gratified that you enjoyed the story and hope you'll join Sandhurst & Company for their following adventures.

Reviewer: Terilynn Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 13 May 2009 13:50 Title: Chapter 1

After a small hiccup, I read this piece in two sittings, gobbling it up as one would a bowl of treats that you just can't stop stuffing into your face.

It's a rare and glorious thing when as a reader you find yourself integrally connected to a character. What's so amazing about Geometries is that I found myself wholly attached to three of them. Sandhurst, Ramirez and Lar'ragos are simply three of the best original characters I've ever had the pleasure to get to know, to root for and to cry with. There is no "for a fanfic" caveat here. I mean in this about any set of characters I have ever read.

Sandhurst may see himself as being less than a "big" captain, but what he doesn't understand is that by the end of this book he has become one.

Ramirez also does an enormous amount of growing in this tale. I have said and will say again that Liana Ramirez is simply the best female Trek character I've seen. Her gender is never an issue, her capabilities in command are just like any other Starfleet officer. It's refreshing and bloody brilliant.

And then there's Pava Lar'ragos. I thought I was smitten before with Embers...but he stole my heart and continued to squeeze it long after I turned my reader off. He is an amazing character. I could read about him and his history forever. I want a series of Pava books. The insights we got of him in this incredible tale were crushing. He is redemption personified - he just doesn't know that yet. OMG I love Pava.

Gibraltar - this story rocked. When I read that it involved a Q "corpse" and that there was a tie-in with the Q Civil War I woke my husband up with my giddy laughter and excitement. The Baron was awesome! I must admit I haven't seen Dr Who in decades, so I never had a x-over mindset with him. It wasn't until I read these reviews that I realized there may have been a nod to another genre. Whatever, it worked brilliantly!

The writing, as always with you, is tight, clean, fast-paced and I'm especially happy to say, that with all the action going on in this story you never lost sight of the characters. I felt like I got more of them in this tale than I did before. Maybe it's because I know them a little better after Embers, but the insight given to them in Geometries (especially for Pava) was just so much fun.

Congratulations on an excellent story! Great plot, great characters, great action and just a ball to read!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much.  I'm pleased you enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: Alara Rogers Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Mar 2009 18:04 Title: Chapter 1

I'm glad you mentioned in your review of "The Partisan" that there was some element of the Q war in this story, because I'm addicted to this stuff, so I came over to read it and found a BAD-ASS EL-AURIAN!!! Oh, man. I love me some badass El-Aurians. I'm a fan of Guinan, and given how weirdly powerful she is on occasion, I've always wanted to see more El-Aurians turn up, and more creative adaptations of a "listening" ability. Pava Lar'ragos was awesome. He is totally screwed in the head and I love him for it.

"The Baron" was a funny shout-out to Doctor Who. Hey, just admit it, he's from another dimension anyway. :-)

And the juxtaposition of this horrible devouring creature that everyone is terrified of with the bloody body of a soldier's brother cradled in his arms was really moving. I suspected, as soon as it was revealed that the creature was basically a zombie Q, that the Continuum would come to take him back, but the way you had them do it was very touching -- no lightshow, roar of voices, disembodied voices from nowhere, etc, just a man who was forced to kill his brother and grieves his loss.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting on the story.

Yes, the Baron was my attempt to subtly insert a evil Gallifreyan Timelord into the Trek universe. A rogue from another dimension whose run afoul of Starfleet.

I'm glad you like the homage to The Q and the Grey. I'd thought the idea of having an evil archetype use a 'Zombie Q' as a terror weapon might make a good plot device.

And thanks for the thumbs up on Pava. He's one of my favorites to write, as he's so at odds with himself at nearly every turn. All his goodwill notwithstanding, he's a trained killer who hates himself for being what circumstances (and his own choices) have made him.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2009 12:45 Title: Chapter 1

This is Gbraltar at it's best! Thanks for posting-I have enjoyed it not being spread all over the place!

Author's Response:

Thank you.  I've had the opportunity to re-tool the story slightly and adjust some of the nagging things that bugged me about the 1st edition.

I'm glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2009 19:03 Title: Chapter 1

As before, copied from Hope Station:

Hell of a cliff-hanger! Just started reading this; may take awhile to get through it, but I enjoyed the first enough that I wanted to get a start on the second. I was glad to see Juneau get some screentime, as she piqued my curiosity earlier. Lar’ragos’ has turned a bit scary, though I'm sure he maybe always was and it's just highlighted more now.

Good start!

You must login (register) to review.