You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 13:49 Title: Piece 8 - Completion

I am not sure how I feel about the testers! But they seem relatively benevolent, at least for now. Never quite sure when it comes to the idea of the diversity of culture (even with the baggage that comes with, like war and dissention) whether you'd ever want something homogenized, because while you may have less conflict, you also have less color.

On the other hand, I'm a corporeal life form myself, and my brain might just be too small, too.

A neat story. And well crafted, with lovely characters and a satisfying resolution.

Author's Response:

Oh, I thank you.

Originally, it did not have this last chapter, but I realized it was dissatisfying without getting the bigger picture.

For people who will eventually learn how to work together, to get a small look ahead could be profound. Travis was so underutilized in canon. What if this makes him a bit philosophical, and gives him a perspective about peace that no one else in Starfleet has?

I thank you for reading!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 13:45 Title: Piece 7 - Deconstruction

I'm so glad that Travis got to keep his friends. I hope he finds out what happened to the rest of them, too, and I like how he pieces together what it all meant, or at least, what he thought it all meant. I'm almost sad this story's wrapping up! I hope somewhere down the line we see more, too.

Author's Response:

Drink me! :)

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 13:36 Title: Piece 6 - Choices

It was a test! I hope Solana lives, she's very sweet and it would be a crime if she died. I like that Aranda found her doll. I hope that whatever comes next will end up being more pleasant than some of the things they have faced so far. Now, as to the purpose to this test... let's see if we find out.

Author's Response:

Everyone has a purpose, everyone has a place. The doll being dropped at the start is the only way they could find the exit.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 13:32 Title: Piece 5 - Veil

“Human, I am not embracing logic.” he joked, “I am just taking it out for a night’s entertainment. Ah, what’s this?”

That may be the best line ever. I love how you can make total unknowns endearing with the turn of a phrase. This one's interesting, though I am still as lost as the characters are. The disappearance of the Orions is interesting, if perhaps foreboding, given what they were doing.

Author's Response:

Yeah, I dig that line, too, thanks. Keleth actually shows up later in fanon, but I made him a doctor ....

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 13:27 Title: Piece 4 - Ricochets

Definitely some kind of test, it almost has to be. 42753 might be a decoy; I hope so and not all at once if that makes sense. I like the way all of them are comforting the little girl, that's very sweet and definitely a point in their favor. It should be fascinating to see what the resolution is to this whole thing.

Author's Response:

I had felt, when I looked at this story again before posting it, that this is the weakest chapter. I think the other bits were better thought out, truth be told.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 13:21 Title: Piece 3 - Drink Me

And so the puzzle continues. It seems to be one big test, though I'd not sure of what, except maybe their abilities to cooperate with one another? I like 42753 finding her voice. There are so many different views of the Orion slave trade, from those who say the females are in control, to those who don't. Fascinating stuff, and I hope that wherever she ends up, she finds her freedom.

And now, onward into the puzzle.

Author's Response:

Onward, yes.

I don't like the idea of the Orion women being in control (even though that's technically canon). I kinda get past that by making her unsold.

I just don't think that slavery and sales make for any sort of an equal give and take, no matter how much Trek can sometimes try to tart it up.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 13:11 Title: Piece 2 - Heat

And so it keeps on. o.O The Orion is a nasty piece of work. I can't make heads or tails of what's going on, either, but there's definitely something happening. I suppose the answer will be forthcoming. I do like the sense of camaraderie that's starting to develop between all of these vastly different species, though. And the cultural exchange of 'grounding'.

Author's Response:

Yes, indeed - and who has knowledge, and when is it delivered, and who evokes other feelings (including some not so nice ones).

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2013 12:55 Title: Piece 1 - Tangle

Wow, you don't go for little mind-screws, do you? Travis takes it all fairly well, considering. There's nothing about this chapter that makes sense, but I have a feeling that it's designed that way. Even so, I like the fact you can immediately come up with a cast of characters as likely as not to be engaging, and it'll definitely be interesting to see where this premise goes!

Author's Response:

Ha, thanks!

This was the first multi-chapter Trek fan fic I ever tackled.

You must login (register) to review.