You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: pio1776 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2017 17:10 Title: Prologue

I thoroughly enjoyed this, along with every twist and turn in it. Thoroughly sympathetic characters throughout, and the ending . . . wow, just wow.

Reviewer: kaldon75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Sep 2013 08:41 Title: Prologue

When I first found your stories on the UT website i must admit I was not overly enthusiastic about reading them mostly beacouse you were going to use an old Constitution class starship, so I thought you are just another author who cant escape the ST clichesh. But i gave it a try.... and wow I was proven so wrong! By no I can say you are so talented that you can teach Holywood a thing or three about making a good Star Trek story, instead of those... those things they try to shove down our throats.
I agree with some of the other readers, its a pity Doc and Olivia had to die, they were cute and two of my four favorite characters ( Ramirez and TSer being the two others ). But I guess that is what has to happen if one wants to write a dark realistic and at times grosome story.
I do have one small suggestion for the next instalment. As we have seen you dont shy away from showing gore blood and death, so is it possible that if somebody is to be tortured in the next part this character(s) to be female ? Personally I am curios to see how T'Ser or Sub Commander Chalois or both at the same time, will hold up under duress. Though i might sound like the Baron by giving this suggestion, I dont really want them to die infact it will be best if they are saved at the end. You can always use Ramirezes intent to hurt people close to Donald, just to make him suffer, so lets say she captures T'Ser and uses her as bait of her own ?
Well that was just my suggestion, in any case you do an outstanding work, of which I cant wait to read the next part(S) Thank you.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the terrific review of the story! There's plenty more danger to be had in Part III, but I can't give away whom it will be that finds themselves in harm's way.

If you're interested in a dramatic story that puts T'Ser through her paces, I'd strongly recommend CeJay's fantastic All The Sinners, Saints, which you can find here: http://www.stareagleadventures.com/stareagleadventures.com/Eagle_4.html

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2013 06:16 Title: Chapter 12

...

Wow...I am...in shock. I feel sick to my stomach. I want to hug Pava (total man-to-man, bro hug, cause...yeah...it'd be weird otherwise). I want to curl up into a ball and cry. I need to go to sleep, cause I have to be up in 8ish hours, but I can't sleep now.

I had been waiting this whole story for Ramirez to meet the Europa crew, and of course it happens at the end, and in very wonderful Ramirez/Pava fashion. I didn't expect them to use the Baron the way they did, and killing Doc was just...well, at least it was heroic. But did you have to kill First? And like that? I about stopped right there and said "screw it, I'm done reading this," but I saw I was almost done and...yeah.

I get the feeling this is your last outing for the Gibraltar and her crew. I knew you excelled at killing people in incredible and spectacular fashion but...wow. I need something with rainbows and ponies and candy and singing to cheer me up to normal again.

Beyond all that, this story was very well written and a great continuation of the previous. The hopeless situation so far from home is very well captured, in a sense I feel Voyager seemed to always miss: the ship always seems to be in a state of disrepair, or very nearly repaired. Having the space station there to effect repairs certainly does help, but having it not exactly around the corner is refreshing. The amount of bloodshed (not this last chapter, mind you, I'm talking the first contact scenarios) definitely forces us to look at the situation the Federation has placed themselves in and ask, "Is Vanguard actually doing a service, or are they straddling that morally ambiguous line way too comfortably, or have they completely gone off the edge," doing things that I think would make even...well, nevermind, they'd actually make a Section 31 agent very proud.

I can't wait till part 3 is finished. Until then, I need to go find something less depressing, lol. As always, a fine piece of work!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting! Yes, the Vanguard mission is straining the moral principles of the Federation to the breaking point, and the cost in both blood and treasure is already terribly high.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Aug 2013 23:30 Title: Chapter 4

You and your insane ways of killing people...uggh...

And if it's bad enough to make even Pava lose his lunch...this is just awful. I can't believe how far Liana has fallen. I keep hoping that, somehow, eventually, the crew rescues her and brings her back to her senses...but then there is this growing part of me that wants to go "no, she's the enemy now, she's the villain. She's turning into someone even colder and more ruthless and merciless than The Baron! There's no coming back from that now!"

Also good to see Sandhurst back in the mix and ready to step back up. I like T'Ser and she was definitely doing an awesome job; I almost wanted to see her keep Europa and Donald go to the Valiant, but this works, too.

The idea of sparking an Amon civil war is interesting, though I think when you introduced the "rogue" faction, I kinda saw it coming. It'd be interesting to see just how he plans on doing it, and what it will mean to his invitation to stay with them.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Aug 2013 12:10 Title: Prologue

well yeah, he survived, but holy crap!

Heart wrenching to go through this scene again. Even with the knowledge that she managed to survive, I think it's even more depressing now knowing that, at the end of the last part she was bat-scat crazy! Killing characters-beloved characters - is bad enough, but to bring them back as villains just twists the knife even deeper. *sigh*

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 17:48 Title: Chapter 12

Outstanding work, start to finish, there wasn't a dull moment in this tale of revenge, loss and, in best Gibraltar fashion, going up against the odds.

Ramirez's return was a shocker early on but not the only one as we were forced to say goodbye to some familiar faces which we had grown fond of over the years.

If this is going to be a trilogy, then Scorched Earths was The Empire Strikes Back. A lot of pain and suffering here with a palpable mood of defeat towards the end.

Now to look forward to the next installment and hope that, just like in my analogy, the good guys come out on top. Considering the complexities in this twisted adventure, nothing can be taken for granted.

Author's Response:

I'm pleased the story resonated with you, CeJay. I'm hoping to take that momentum in to Part III.

Much obliged for the review!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2013 15:48 Title: Chapter 6

This story continues to be be absolutely excellent.

And now we actually get a little bit of quiet time while everyone adjusts to recent changes.

Sandhurst picking Pava as his XO is a big gamble, for sure. Let's see how that plays out.

Author's Response:

C'mon, you *know* there's gonna be tears, right?  ;-)

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Dec 2012 05:15 Title: Chapter 4

It has to be said. One of the most heinous and brutal attacks on a starship ever put to 'paper'. Difficult to read but without doubt, absolutely perfectly executed, it gave me chills.

And then there is Sandhurst's Story. The man is clearly changed from what he has once been, evidenced by his latest actions. The questions that remains: Changed for better or worse?

Reviewer: Coot Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Dec 2012 14:44 Title: Prologue

I'm keeping my fingers crossed for both Sandhurst and Ramirez, but I have a nasty feeling things are going to get much worse for both of them before they get better. If they get better at all.
Every chapter, every scene brings new information. I've absolutely no idea how any of this is going to end.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2012 18:32 Title: Chapter 1

A lot of fascinating things are a foot here. Pava being a jerk (what's new?), evil Ramirez sleeping with the enemy and the great Amon perhaps not so great after all.

The epic tale continues!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2012 18:27 Title: Prologue

In Star Trek as well as in Gibraltar, death can never be taken for granted. Still, an amazingly unexpected twist to learn Ramirez has escaped her cruel fate.

You must login (register) to review.