Reviews For Raising the Stakes
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 May 2012 09:38 Title: Epilogue

An interesting story; the best bits were fleshing out Logan's character a bit more, giving Geordi a cameo role and introducing the Breen. I've noticed that your stories use more and more exposition and that is no bad thing. The story pace is only slightly slowed, while the scenes become more easier to visualize and the characters more detailed.

Another thing I've noticed is how with each passing story the balance is more skewed towards drama than to the plot or action/adventure. This is a good thing, and a logical thing to as the characters get to know each other better with each passing year.

The plot seemed a little meandering, as in we had the Minos and surprisingly quick resolution to such dangerous devices/weaponry, then we Yegrun and the Breen, and finally a whole smattering of crew interactions and pairing offs. I know this is part 1 of your Dominion war wrap-up arc (your introducing elements here), but I was wondering if you had any stories which feature predominantly one character or I dunno a different style of plot?

Overall I would give this story four out of five stars.

I was wondering how many stories you have planned for the conclusion of the Dominion war?

Looking forward to That's our Q!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the overall story despite the quick resolution. That's sort of explained at the end. I had hoped to establish that these character relationships don't happen in a vacuum, that they look to each other during a tragedy that affects a great many people and that the potential exists for off-duty activities to interfere with their duties. I may just do a few shorter between Season 2 & 3 drama stories. In the meantime, stay tuned to "That's Our Q" and a mega-story documenting the final forty days of the Dominion War, tentatively titled "Surviving the Flood".

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 May 2012 08:25 Title: Chapter 5

Goodbye Tor Vot. It's good to see the darker side of Limis; the part of her that kills the bad guys without question or hesitation.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 May 2012 07:56 Title: Chapter 3

Great chapter! You write the bad guys really well, and the Limis character seems her best when in bad situations like these! Plus it's cool you interlink older stories with the new ones.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2012 17:36 Title: Chapter 2

Wow, Morrison is a brat around his ex-girlfriends. Nice of you to include Geordi, plus I didn't realise Logan was that engineering slimeball in the Arsenal of Freedom.

Author's Response: On your first point, Morrison come off that way, but it's his own way of coping by acting like he isn't bothered having to still work closely with those officers. On the second, I wanted to provide some followup from Logan's butting heads with LaForge, where he was just around to provide character conflict. And everywhere else I've seen Vyto Ruginis, he was playing a bad guy, so I figured on having Logan be someone with a dark secret, as will be hinted at the end of this story.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2012 17:03 Title: Chapter 1

Nice interpersonal drama stuff, I'm just waiting for Carson and Morrison to get back together again. One questions:

1. This is strictly scientific, but when you say sh'Aqba is not exactly female, does that mean she does not have all the sexual organs; like a vagina for instance.

Nice one with the Breen; make them your own and thumbs up for their language structure!

Author's Response: As is indicated later in this story and in one of the Meta Essays, under the four-gender arrangement in Andorians, a shen has, in a sense, both male and female sex organs, while a zhen is more exclusively female. As for Morrison and Carson reuniting, that'll have to wait until Season 3.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Apr 2012 15:03 Title: Prologue

Wow awesome battle scene! Plus you explain how only a few Breen ships survived the daring attack on Earth. Nice one!

Author's Response: Thanks. I was thinking in terms of a strategy where the Breen were mostly concerned with inflicting heavy damage without regard for how many ships were lost. And then throwing that the Defiant seemingly had the upper hand on the Breen until their secret weapon was unleashed. Compared to the Battle of Chintoka, the most logical conclusion was that only the larger battle cruisers were equipped with the energy dissipaters while the smaller fighters attacking Earth had more conventional weaponry.

Reviewer: David Lowbridge Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Apr 2012 11:19 Title: Chapter 2

Wow, this story is gripping, I couldn't help but read straight through chapters one and two after reading the prologue. I should read this series from the beginning. This does feel very trekkie and very "episode friendly". It's also excellent writing.

Author's Response: Always glad to have new readers. And I try to format these stories like hour-long episodes. Some in this series are shorter, and some are longer. This one is on pace to be one of the longer ones and with a few surprises at the end.

Reviewer: David Lowbridge Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Apr 2012 10:21 Title: Prologue

Excellent telling of the little known attack on earth in the seventh season of DS9. Beautifully told as well. Excellent prologue.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

You must login (register) to review.