You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Sep 2013 08:12 Title: Reflected

hmm...maybe the random button isn't so good this time. I feel like there is a LOT I am missing by picking up right here in the middle of your Scotty story. I'll have to rectify this soon...

Still, I liked this. You touched on what was obviously a touchy subject for Scotty, but took it from another character's point of view (his father, I'm guessing) and showed just how conflicted he was about the relationship as well. And while he might not be a part of Scotty's life, or maybe even responsible for the man he is, knowing that he's doing well for himself and becoming a man is certainly something to be proud of.

I feel like this is a relationship that has seen it's share of stress, and I wonder if it ever gets fully repaired, or even gets a bandage on it, before one or both of them depart for good. Still, they're making their way; Scotty did call him first, after all, out of the blue. It's probably a small start, but it's something at least.

Author's Response: The Arc of the Wolf probably is best read in chronological order. But the big one before this would be Junkyard Dogs. ;) But Jay is definitely proud of his son. ...except, his son doesn't actually know it's Jay who is his father. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2013 15:03 Title: Bookends

Just reread this after four years and it still stirs the same feelings in me:  That no matter how much we 'evolve,' no matter how much Mankind learns from the mistakes of the past, some things will never change.  Kids will be kids, and do things in their youth that are not wise, despite knowing that it will hurt those around them.  That even coming from the best of situations, it doesn't mean your life will be perfect.

That some families are good, and loving, and willing to take the good with the bad, and work to strengthen and support each other no matter the situation.  And just because you weren't lucky enough to be born into such a family, it doesn't mean you'll never have one, or receive - and even give - that kind of love and respect.

That there is an unspoken bond between siblings that isn't necessarily related to blood ties, and that even though they may fight with one another, no outsider better mess with them - ever!

The descriptions in this piece were lovely, and evoked images of the bitterly cold, blustery winters in my corner of PA, but this piece is about so much more; is so much deeper, and it's only after you're done reading it, and have time to carefully ruminate on all the things that were *not* said, that you are struck by its sheer beauty.

Truly an exceptional piece of writing.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jul 2013 10:25 Title: Bookends

though good and bad, does seem Scotty motto at times.

A solid story that was as always easy enough to read that you could focus on the deeper questions.

The Trek future isn't perfect because people aren't going to change, just there seem more heros ready to act as a guidelight for the others. Scotty and Corry are a great team.

and finally Radioactive Vulcan zombie II - the Returns just seem the story with a little light and give me a needed laugh. well done

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I've always been proud of the layers in this one.

Reviewer: meffie Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jun 2011 19:44 Title: Just A Basic Life Lesson

First, I love how you described winter in Maine. I live there and I think you painted the picture perfectly. Secondly, this was such a fun story!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 18 Oct 2010 16:04 Title: Reflected

Wow.  Heartbreaking and sweet and so very real.  I don't know how you do it.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I... tell it how it is, I suppose. <3

Reviewer: kes7 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Mar 2010 18:34 Title: Lobster Wars

Oh, my goodness!  Thank you for the laughs!  This was great!  I saw the "You phasered a lobster" line in the "Best of" thread and had been meaning to read this ever since ... glad I finally got to it.  Oh, that is funny.

Favorite part:  *Lobsters staring at Scotty*  "Bloody hell."

Seriously.  I mean the original offense and the payback were both hilarious, but something about Scotty standing there trying really hard not to feel bad for a couple of lobsters just makes me love him.  And the phasering!  Love this whole piece.  Nice work.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Mar 2010 13:12 Title: Just A Basic Life Lesson

Right on, Scottie! Had me grinning!

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2010 13:49 Title: Bookends

A great tale, Steff. But you knew that. Give and take.

Author's Response: Thank you, Mistral. <3

Reviewer: Gojirob Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jan 2010 00:26 Title: Bookends

Aside from my loving almost any winter story (Winter's about the only time we NJ Shore residents get any peace), I couldn't help but laugh to think about zombies and Simon Pegg. Slice of life, indeed, fresh from the oven.



Author's Response: LOL! Wrong Scott by awhile (this was written, I think, before Pegg was even cast in the new movie), but I'm glad you liked it! Thank you!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 13 Jan 2010 16:13 Title: Bookends

I just love the whole surrogate brothers vibe that you've developed so well with Scott and Corry.  They're together through thick and thin.  Love all the little touches, too, too many to list.  Radioactive Vulcan Zombies II, the skimmer (and Scotty's lack of a license), the drive from Boston up to Maine (which I've done a couple of times myself).  It just gives the whole piece such a grounding in reality.  Love it.



Author's Response: Thanks! I wrote this story before I had gotten to go to Maine, and as I was telling Kev below... Maine was just a random thing I chose for Corry, and then I ended up going there because it kept coming up. And yes, this story was definitely in my mind, when I went from Boston, to South Bristol. I'm so glad you've made that drive! And thank you, again, for the feedback!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jan 2010 14:32 Title: Bookends

Radioactive Vulcan Zombies: The Return - Well there's a Round Robin title!!


Steff your stories are a love story - a love story with Maine. Like many at this present moment in time, I'm sitting in the cold and yet you can sell Maine and maek me want to go there despite the cold. Do you get like a commission from the tourist board there or something?!


As to the content. Scotty with Corry is pretty much as comfortable and cosy a slice of life that we'll get with him, considering his earlier life. It is comforting that he feels welcome and safe in this home, enough to fall alseep in the seat and wake up with a blanket around him. Aw sweet. And of course we discover that he'll go anywhere with Corry and fight his corner. A great insight.



Author's Response: Thanks, Kev! Believe it or not, I had never gone to Maine before I wrote this story; in fact, even picking Maine as Cor's home state had been kind of a random thing. LOL! So, it was these stories that actually led me to go visit for real, not the other way around. I'm was fairly careful writing all of this trying not to really hammer it home, how far Scotty had to get in his own head to feel that safe and protected in that house, but I'm always chuffed when people put it together. Thanks so much for the feedback!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jul 2009 07:54 Title: Breathless

What a magical little moment. No wonder the Enterprise is so a part of him and he a part of it. Something powerful and iconic about naming 'lettering' a ship like baptising. And of course the magic and wonder of the moment is so wonderfully evoked by your tone and use of language. Simply wonderful.



Author's Response: Thank you much, Miranda! I couldn't buy that he would have any large parts in it all, given his youth, but I could buy him doing this. ;-)

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 17 Jun 2009 12:45 Title: Reflected

Oh. loved this story. As a dad, I couldn't show Jay's restraint-I'd have to spill the beans. Not doing so would make my heart ache too much-a feeling you capture well.

Author's Response: Thanks much.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jun 2009 09:42 Title: Mothers and Sons

A brief and touching tale of people examining what really matters to them as they're forced to let go of the ones they love who must go in harm's way.  Scotty's visit home, as usual, hightlight the basic dysfunction of his family unit, while Corry's family radiates a warmth and acceptance Scott can't find with his own kin.

Really marvelous stuff!



Author's Response: Thanks much! I didn't wanna use any sledgehammers with it, and am glad it came off well.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2009 14:51 Title: Home

Short but sweet.  Two friends, separated by lightyears, but still able to continue a close bond.  Corry's back Earth-side while Scotty's out on the outer edge of the thick of things... but their friendship endures.

Nice.



Author's Response: Thanks! There are a bunch of tales before this in True Bearings, but this one stands alone nicely, too.

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 May 2009 22:51 Title: Lobster Wars

BWAAAAHAHAHAAHAHA!

Probably one of my favorite Scotty-Corry humor episodes, along with the accent story!  From Corry's prank, to STUNNING A LOBSTER, to the shower prank--pure gold!!!

This interaction is actually one of the ones that inspired me in writing the interaction between Lavelle and Mendral in "Captives' Ransom"...I truly admire how effortlessly this sort of funny banter and crazy scenarios come to you. :-)



Author's Response: Thanks much! It never used to; if anything, I've had a hard time learning the art of humor. But I'm glad I was able to carry it through.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2009 15:28 Title: Abigail

"Wow. Really?" -- "Yeah, really." Now, why doesn't it happen to me every other day? LOL. I don't think I ever told you what I think of her. The point is, I understand her way more than I'd like to.;-) And that's scary. ;-)

Author's Response: Someday, I'll get a chance to really make her shine. Thank you!

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Apr 2009 22:47 Title: Home

What I like most about your writing are your very well thought about passages...I LOVED this one..

Corry had a far better understanding than most people of what it was to be connected to people; after all that had happened in the Academy, he never let himself forget just what it is to be a part of someone else's life, either in blood or by choice.

That is very good writing SL. And Corry, and maybe I am wrong maybe he is canon somewhere, but if not, you have created a very interesting 'original' character here. Keep going with this..

Rob

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Rob! Yes, Corry's all original. He was supposed to be a one-off POV character, but he decided he wouldn't leave. And, I'm glad he didn't.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 21 Apr 2009 12:33 Title: Home

I very simple but lovely vignette. Really drives home the brotherly feelings between the two. Excellent as always.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

Reviewer: ProudNerd Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 17 Apr 2009 22:27 Title: Lobster Wars

LOL!!! Too funny! Prank wars are always great to read about!

Author's Response: Thanks. It was an absurd amount of fun to write.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Apr 2009 19:17 Title: Bookends

That was a beautiful look into friendship, brotherhood, and RL. I have no doubt these types of issues will still plague mankind in the 23rd century, just as family issues must have plagued the first cavemen to live in family groups. Some things never change. ;-)

The piece was well written, the descriptions of life in New England, especially winter there, making me wonder if you've had first-hand experience?

These two have an easy way about them, much as we'd expect from good friends, or siblings. It all rings so true, right down to Cor's desire to shoulder the responsibility himself and spare his parents the anguish. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This is one of my favorites, mostly for the spoken and the unspoken stuff; the layers, which are very many. And when I wrote this, I hadn't been to Maine yet, and Pittsburgh doesn't quite count as New England to me. But I did my best to visualize it, and I'm glad it came off well.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Apr 2009 05:34 Title: Perfectly Good Sunday

Reading that made me almost wish for an autumn's day. Again, I love the dynamics between these two. In ways they are like polar opposites. Corry cannot quite understand Scotty's diligience over raking leaves and Scotty can not quite appreciate Corry wrecking the pile of leaves. But I gotta swing in with Corry on this one, it's just too much fun not to do so. Loved it.



Author's Response: Wow, how did I miss responding to this? Thank you! They are... bookends. Counterweights. They compliment each other really nicely, and play off each other; it's a ton of fun writing 'em.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Apr 2009 12:25 Title: Just A Basic Life Lesson

Heh Heh! Nothing like a good snowball fight. Not a very constructive or mature review sorry, but a joyous little read.

Reviewer: Gumnut Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Apr 2009 06:05 Title: Breathless

And just to think, out there some where is the rest of the team that will make that starship legend.

A great idea for the job Ensign Scott could be assigned to :D And nicely written, too. I love the image of the ship in Earth shine (and that phrase).

Thanks for writing and sharing.

Nutty
(stoned on music)

Author's Response: Thanks for the comment! It is, indeed, the sensible alternative to him building the Enterprise when he's that young, which makes no sense.

Reviewer: Verenna Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Apr 2009 14:14 Title: Perfectly Good Sunday

"Hours of diligent work, for a moment of relative insanity, in a total disregard for structure and pattern.
Maybe that really was the point."
Perhaps, in life, that is the point.Just a moment of insanity.Just a moment of joy.
You made my day Steff.
Thanks for sharing this story.
V.

Author's Response: It may well be; it's beginning to look that way. Thank you very much for the comment!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.