Reviews For Arc of the Wolf
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2015 08:35 Title: Godspeed

What a sweet but sad moment. The love Scott has for these beautiful vessels permeates the piece in a real and believable way. He was so often reduced to comic relief on the show and in the films, but you do him justice in a way no one else could. I loved this. 

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2015 13:04 Title: Bridge

Oh my! How breathtakingly lovely and heartbreaking at the same time. It's amazing how a place can imprint itself on a person in such a way.

This hit home for me, in a way, because I know how Scott feels. As I think you know, I lived in Eastern Europe for two years, and even though I've been back in my home country for ten years now, there are still times I am thinking about Romania and I get so homesick for the life I had there that I could cry. The thing is, though, I felt exactly the same about my life here, while I was there.

It's a strange thing to realize that life is going on without me there because I'm here, and yet I have a full life and friends and family that I love here, too. Unfortunately, nothing remains the same, and like Scott, if I went back there now, it wouldn't be the same experience. Likely, there would be few people who remembered that I once lived among them.

This is a great character piece, showing how Scott is aging, and his thought processes as he does so. I've read bits and pieces of the Arc of the Wolf, as I've been able to catch the time, and I have to say that I love the series, and this story is a good addition to it. I'll look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It is definitely a work in progress and probably will be for the next few decades of my life. <3

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 00:12 Title: Not Quite Covert

This was brilliant! I am constantly amazed at the width and breadth of imagination fanfic writers have and just where they can take the worlds that they love. Who else but one of us would have imagined writing a cooking story set aboard the Enterprise! You did a great job with all of the characters, as usual, bringing just the right angle to their voices and reactions. I loved how you managed to get almost all of the TOS crew involved and used their choice of food to give us a little insight into their character. You especially did a good job rounding out the character of Chekov, who is often given short-shrift in both the canon and non canon stories - the idea of him taking up gardening because he couldn't stand having something that there that didn't have a logical use really says a lot about him.

Ditto with Scotty - though I wouldn't expect anything less from you. His hidden talent was one thing but having him unable to resist sharing it with his crew mates, all the way down to the chef (who everyone seems to be a bit scared of) was a wonderful touch. I think Scotty has been especially misserved on the new Star Trek, turned into little more than comedic fodder, but you do a great job in all of your fic showing what he can be.

The dialogue was snappy and true to the voices of the characters, without devolving into parody, which with these characters we all know and love so much it is surprisingly easy to do. There was just enough descriptive prose for us to get a sense of scene, especially in the cooking segments - I was imagining my father-in-law's home made lasagna (he's Italian) while reading the last sections and my mouth is still drooling... :)

A wonderful job here on what could be a "small" story but still allows us to get a better grasp of all these characters, the TOS crew we all love. A testament to fanfic can be great stuff without needing to be epic AU retellings [cough]. ;) Well done!

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Mar 2015 09:21 Title: Just the Thing

Oh, a delightful piece. I don't know these characters of yours, but your story made me like them. You made it easy to feel empathy for both the youthful, restless boys and with Melinda as she left her cutting board to listen in. 

Great opening phrase. "She could hear their voices through the open kitchen door..." One simply has to read on. And having read on, I can only wonder if they have room for Melinda's dinner. 

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2015 08:36 Title: Not Quite Covert

A fun, well-done story. I could practically smell the delicious aromas wafting through the good ship Enterprise. Who would have thought that Scotty was good in the kitchen? And actually enjoys cooking?

The interplay between these familiar characters was realistic. I could just see Kirk calling his senior officers to a briefing about a "renegade cook". He would definitely try to pull rank and get in on some of that tasty home-cooked food.  

Reviewer: Erin Moriarty Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2014 19:38 Title: Fresh Air

LOL, these two really needed more scenes together, I think it would have been really entertaining. Funny story, I like it a lot!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2014 14:30 Title: Hierarchy

Wow. Seems like Scotty is having a hard time fitting in on the Enterprise. I can relate to that. You gave me as a reader a good hook-line-and-sinker here for me to sink my fanfic reading teeth into. I’ve really enjoyed reading this first chapter. The original characters are engaging and they are sticking to me like glue. It’s easy to see the struggle that Scotty is going through trying to fit in. The emotions shown in this first chapter is what drew me in. I’ve always been a sucker for a good Scotty story. I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read so far and now I’m on to read chapter 2. Thanks for a wonderful opening to a really good fic. I look forward to seeing how everything comes together in the end.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2014 15:21 Title: Hierarchy

First let me say that this was a fantastic read, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and a look into Scott's personality that I hadn't considered before.

I like that he is still flustered around Senior officers--I've always sort of seen Scott as an Introvert--not necessarily shy, but finding dealing with people a bit of a chore at times.

And I like that the 'wasting talent' line flew right over his head.

I'm glad they found a solution that is win-win for everyone, and that he seems happier, calmer, and more stable. Maybe he's finally found a solution he can live with, and allow his inherent brilliance to shine through.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2014 15:12 Title: Hierarchy

Ah, so that's what it is--he's either showing the first signs of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, or fighting tooth and nail not to allow the trauma he has experienced to turn into that. It's a hard position to be in, to be constantly reliving the nightmare. I am glad she went searching for the problem, and found it, and also glad that she went to the other senior officers on the ship, both for their backup and to be sure she hadn't missed anything in her solution.

Her solution was a sound one. If she had simply taken away his attempts to control the work the Engineering department was doing, without giving him something to replace it, he might have thought she didn't have confidence in his ability as a leader, and it might also have hampered his healing.

It reads as very believable to me that he would seek out the quiet places on the ship--the places where he could be alone, and I liked that she went to find him there instead of calling him to come to her.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2014 14:28 Title: Hierarchy

I'm really liking Pike here--the easy relationship he has with the crew when he allows himself to put his guard down, but no one being willing to push that too far, either. We didn't get to know Pike all that well in the Original Series, and I think that's a shame. I like how he handles the freebooters, and makes them back down.

I also like the exchange between Boyce and Cait in sickbay. Indeed, it is awfully easy to think the outsiders coming in are the problem, but sometimes the issue is that those who are already insiders get complacent, and assume that those who come in need to find a way to fit.

That position can be damaging to both sides, because it allows for resentment to fester over someone being who they are, and also over someone coming in and doing better work or working harder. In addition, it sends the message to the other person that being who they are isn't acceptable. And usually, it is the most creative people who don't fit, because they tend to approach the world differently.

I keep finding myself going back to the still, and I think that's because Scott made an honest effort to fit in to the ship, and when he was slapped down, he did what he was supposed to do because he cared about his job and didn't want to be the cause of endangering the ship on one hand while fighting to keep it safe on the other.

I'm glad Cait is self aware enough to realize that she might have helped create the problem, and also to be willing to fix it, if she can.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2014 13:34 Title: Hierarchy

I found it a bit humorous that the medic was following Cait around, trying to fix her arm. Reminds me of some other officers I know ;-). I like that she was conscious of the choice she was making in letting Scott go, but still making the choice because it was what was best for the ship at the moment.

Boyce seems to have a pretty good insight into what makes Scotty tick, and I love that he realizes that helping Scott get over his fear of medical personnel is every bit as much a treatment as healing his physical injuries, and just as important. If there was a problem for Scott with doctors as a child, I have to think the two full board reviews would have made it worse. TOS paid far too little attention to the psychological issues that affected the crew, and I am glad to see that remedied here.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2014 12:57 Title: Hierarchy

I started reading your Arc of the Wolf series sometime last year, and really enjoyed the stories I read, but then life intervened and I had to stop. And because I am me, and have some major concentration issues, I tend to bounce around between stories, even in the same arc.

This story answered many questions I had had while reading some of the other stories (I think I accidentally skipped around a bit).

I identify with Scott in so many ways here--the methodical precision and thoroughness with which he does his job, that almost obsessive quality about him that says if it isn't perfect it isn't good enough, the truthfulness in his character that won't allow him to lie when asked a direct question, and the social isolation and resentment that comes as a result of the rest of it.

I also identify with Cait, having seen this so many times in classrooms or among colleagues, and having no idea what to do in either case. You've written it here with such skill that it brings a depth to the story, and to Scott's character, that most people don't find when writing him.

Too often, in episodes of the Original Series, one got the impression that all of the officers were confident in who they were and what they were doing, and while their lives weren't perfect, most of that was from outside influence. There were never really any serious mistakes, or personnel issues, but that's just not human.

I like the exchange between Boyce and Cait, and how he doesn't tell her what to do, but just listens and offers a comment here or there--one that might stick with her, that she might come back to when thinking things through later and making a decision about what she has to do.

It looks to me like she has three choices. She leave things as they are, and let those involved work things out on their own, which in this situation could be a bad decision because it could be deadly for the crew. She can transfer Scott, so that his influence won't be an issue anymore, which doesn't feel right on the surface because he is good at what he does, but which may end up being better for the crew as a whole, in terms of morale. Or she can transfer everyone else, and try to build a team that can work with him, which doesn't really make sense because a team is just that--a team of people, who live or die by the work of everyone, and cannot survive on the efforts of one person. It's a tough decision Cait faces, and I'll look forward to seeing where this story goes.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 May 2014 21:13 Title: Cabbage

Practical as always, our Mister Scott. And he calls it like he sees it. I love that they are this excited over something new, and it turns out to be a cabbage. Glad Mr. Scott snapped them out of it. Funny.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 May 2014 19:52 Title: Brave

The making of Chief Scott. Of course, the making of him was in fact a long process and one borne by a number of people, among them Cait Barry. All of them, I think right up to Pike are going to be to the forefront of Scotty's mind as he seeks to prove them right in their faith in him. He never believed himself fit for it for a long time and now we see him ready and even willing to take on the task. Perhaps it is the last words of Cait that spurs him or an acknowledgement of all that he has gone through, survived and a faith in his own skills, but he catches himself even out as he talks through the problems and possible solutions to the engineering issues. He finds himself talking like the chief engineer. What was his natural place in the universe to all his fans has actually been a long winding road but here and now we see him reach it.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 May 2014 18:25 Title: Sentry

Hee, hee. He indeed lost the bet. I kinda figured it was that kind of scene once Andy accepted the bet from Abby, however, the scene as portrayed was just so adorable, it really was. More than that though, it shows just how much Cor accepts Scotty into his family and how much Scotty feels a part of Cor's family. Isn't something else that he should find such a warm and loving home after so much of his life spent without. No wonder then that Scotty is sentry, has an instinctual need to protect Cor and his family. He will protect those he feels, thinks or even imagines will cause harm to them. And I find myself marvelling then at how you can return to the Wolf mantra with Scotty and Cor and it always resonates with a rich and deep meaning. I am always impressed too by the level of sincerity to the words and emotions and how you can play and dance between the sweet, light and fun scenes of the start and end to bookend something that is much deeper, personal in its exploration and touching too.

 

Oh and, sigh, I have to admit there was also a great big smile at the image of Scotty singing to the babies on a regular basis, and here particularly with himself falling asleep with babe in arms, and murmuring a last line before falling off to nod himself too. And how very Scot that even as he manages to fall alseep he finds an engineered way to keep the babe from rolling off and safely ensconced upon him. Sweet. Adorable. Pragmatic and inventive. I rather guess attributes needed to be a parent. One now wonders what Scotty would have been like as an actual dad. Did you ever toy with that storyline possibility?

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 13:36 Title: It's All Engineering

Aw, that's a sweet ending. I know you write Scotty as often being on a hair trigger, and McCoy certainly wasn't helping things here. And - despite what Scotty says - getting off-ship is a good thing for him. If nothing else, he should interact with different people and breathe air that is not recycled. But be that as it may, it makes for a good look into both of their inner workings. McCoy, interested when the subject turns to something he can relate to (and royally pissed off when he realizes he's been had - again), and Scotty able to get done what he wants done and also convince McCoy of the rightness of his own actions.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Apr 2014 02:06 Title: The Idiot's Guide to Grilled Cheese

Random story time! Loved this! I was trying hard not to laugh too loudly and wake the house up. Love Corry and Scotty, and the brotherly scenes throughout. Not just the fight at the end, but Scotty coaching Corry through the cooking. Loved it!

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2014 16:59 Title: Fresh Air

It's fresh air seeing those two arguing for a change.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Dec 2013 16:40 Title: The Old Guard

What a wonderful little short story SLWalker.
Given the way you’ve written both Scotty and Spock’s relationship with Captain Pike. I’m sure the Moment he was promoted off and replace by the young Captain Kirk. Must have been very hard for them both, was an interesting way to give the two men a common link. Still Spock mental thought about the old guard been more than the two of them in fact, did seem very adapt for Spock.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 15:50 Title: Sleeping Dogs

Ah, sweet revenge. A dish best served .... unexpectedly.

You do not want to mess with a Scotsman. I'm sure that's written down somewhere.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 15:44 Title: Impeccable

Okay, yeah, I appreciate that there were some really thoughtful observations for Abby in this piece, a certain amount of palpable angst of having to share her future husband with his closest friend ... but all I could think about was flying Vulcans. Flying Vulcans! I want to see that movie! Now!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 15:36 Title: The Old Guard

Never easy to adjust to major change. Especially if, like in this case, it means to say good bye to a respected and beloved leader and mentor. And yet a silver lining, as it brings two men together and strengthening their common bond.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 14:41 Title: Fresh Air

Nice little bit of McCoy and Scotty you capture both of their voices with your usual skill and you do manage to show them both humour to balance their friendship.
I love the line of going to the store to get a little pine tree air freshener to cover the smell. Loudmouth Lenny it be a great seller for Starfleet merchandise arm ;-)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 12:38 Title: Fresh Air

This made me grin! You've got those two personalities down pat.  One can only hope the Enterprise is searching for them, and finds them soon...for Scotty's sake.

And I agree - unless I was injured, McCoy is the LAST person I'd want to be stuck on a downed shuttlecraft with. ;)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 12:31 Title: Someday

A sweet, wee piece that captures very well the softer, gentler side of our favorite engineer that he fights so hard to keep hidden from almost everyone around him.

All the more poignant as we, the reader, know the fate that awaits that wide-eyed toddler.  A firm tug at the heartstrings to be sure.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.